Agenda Item 33 (a)

24 October 2019

Brighton & Hove City Council

BRIGHTON & HOVE CITY COUNCIL

SPECIAL COUNCIL

3.00pm 25 JULY 2019

COUNCIL CHAMBER, HOVE TOWN HALL

MINUTES

Present: Councillors Phillips (Chair), Robins (Deputy Chair), Simson, Allcock, Appich, Atkinson, Bagaeen, Barnett, Bell, Brennan, Brown, Childs, Clare, Davis, Deane, Druitt, Ebel, Evans, Fishleigh, Fowler, Gibson, Grimshaw, Hamilton, Heley, Henry, Hill, Hills, Hugh-Jones, Janio, Knight, Lewry, Littman, Lloyd, Mac Cafferty, Mears, McNair, Miller, Moonan, Nemeth, Nield, O'Quinn, Osborne, Peltzer Dunn, Pissaridou, Platts, Powell, Rainey, Shanks, C Theobald, Wares, West, Wilkinson, Williams and Yates

PART ONE

1 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

1.1 There were no declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests.

2 MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS.

2.1 The Mayor welcomed everyone present to this Special Meeting.

3 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN AND ALDERWOMEN

- 3.1 The Mayor said that this item related to the proposed appointment of previous councillors as Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen of the City Council of Brighton & Hove. The appointment is made in recognition of the service given by those past councillors to the Council, the wards they represented and the city.
- 3.2 The Mayor proposed that the following past councillors should be appointed as Honorary Aldermen or Alderwomen:

Jayne Bennett, Hove Park Ward Denise Cobb, Westbourne Ward Lynda Hyde, Rottingdean Coastal Ward Mo Marsh, Moulsecoomb & Bevendean Ward Anne Meadows, Moulsecoomb & Bevendean Ward Gill Mitchell, East Brighton Ward Warren Morgan, East Brighton Ward Ann Norman, Withdean Ward Ken Norman, Withdean Ward Geoffrey Theobald OBE, Patcham Ward

- 3.3 The Mayor called on Councillor Platts, Leader of the Council to second the motion.
- 3.4 Councillor Platts formerly seconded the motion.
- 3.5 The Mayor called on Councillor Mac Cafferty, Leader of the Opposition and Convener of the Green Group to second the motion.
- 3.6 Councillor Mac Cafferty said that today the Council recognised the hard work of our former colleagues and noted that together they had provided hundreds of years of service, which was an amazing achievement. He thanked them for their service and the important role they played in the city. He said that weren't many ways to thank them for their service, and so it was important to formally convey the title of Aldermen and Alderwomen to some of them and to provide a certificate of thanks to others. He formally seconded the motion.
- 3.7 The Mayor called on Councillor Bell, Leader of the Conservative Group to second the motion.
- 3.8 Councillor Bell welcomed the former councillors to the meeting and thanked them for all the work they had done. He particularly wanted to thank Geoffrey Theobald who had given over 50 years to public service. He formally seconded the motion.
- 3.9 The Mayor said that the motion to nominate the aforementioned persons as Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen had been moved and asked those present to approve the motion. The motion was agreed.
- 3.10 The Mayor presented a certificate to those listed in paragraph 3.1 in commemoration of their appointment.
- 3.11 The Mayor said that several of the previous councillors had chosen not to stand for re-election and others had been unsuccessful at the recent elections. The Mayor thanked them for their service to the Council and the residents of the City and wanted to move a vote of thanks to the following departing councillors:

Karen Barford, Queen's Park Ward Tom Bewick, Westbourne Ward Julie Cattell, Preston Park Ward Dan Chapman, Queen's Park Ward Emma Daniel, Hanover & Elm grove Ward Penny Gilbey, North Portslade Ward Louisa Greenbaum, St Peter's & North Laine Ward Saoirse Horan, Goldsmid Ward Michael Inkpin-Leissner, Hollingdean & Stanmer Ward Amanda Knight, Goldsmid Ward Adrian Morris, Queen's Park Ward Dick Page, Hanover & Elm Grove Ward Ollie Sykes, Brunswick & Adelaide Ward Nick Taylor, Withdean Ward Andrew Wealls, Central Hove Ward

- 3.12 The Mayor asked those present to approve the motion.
- 3.13 The motion was agreed.
- 3.14 The Mayor presented a certificate of thanks to those listed in paragraph 3.11 in recognition of their contribution to the City and their ward.

4 CLOSE OF MEETING

4.1 The Mayor thanked everyone for attending this special meeting and offered her congratulations to those who had been conferred as Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen, and declared the meeting closed.

The meeting concluded at 3.30pm

Signed

Chair

Dated this

day of

2019